top of page
Search
  • Emily Caswell

A Masterclass with Leslie Travers

I was first introduced to Leslie Travers's work when I came across a photo of his innovative set and costume designs for 'Death of a Salesman' back in early 2018. So when I find out I would be going to a masterclass with Leslie himself - to say I was excited would be an understatement!


From Leslie's gloriously detailed 1:50 scale models, to his realised designs I was completely in awe. Not just of the physical product, but of the meaning behind them. One thing that Leslie said that really resonated with me, was: "Your set design isn't there to reciprocate the script".

The idea of drawing out the psychology within the characters and transferring that into the design of the production, is something I have always thought about when designing. Therefore it was really insuring hearing an established designer saying these things too. This has inspired me to create more of an innovative design for my recent project 'Seven Acts of Mercy', through making a statement on how our environment will be shaped by the ever growing landfill of waste, the mental preparation for loss, and the co-existence of old and new.


This led me to ask the following question: Is good theatre just for entertainment or to make a statement?


Personally I believe, it is a combination of both. Theatre is so powerful, you can create a visual masterpiece that depicts a political message or a character's deepest emotions - in one broken wall.


Leslie is arguably one of the best Performance designers of our time. His designs have depth, they are not just there for an aesthetic appeal - they leave you wanting more. In the best way. All I can hope is to create the same level of breath-taking art as Leslie one day.


Thank you Leslie for sharing your incredible experiences and designs with us. All the best for your project at Teatro alla Scala!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page